Elvis Presley – Elvis At Stax (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:31 minutes | 1,08 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Digital booklet | © RCA/Legacy

Elvis At Stax celebrates the fortieth anniversary of these legendary recordings. Following the success of Elvis: Aloha From Hawaii via Satellite, Presley returned to his hometown of Memphis and spent time at Stax Recording Studios. Elvis At Stax bristles with energy and dynamism. Included are the hits “Promised Land,” “Raised on Rock,” “I’ve Got a Thing About You Baby,” “My Boy” and much more.

The title “Elvis at Stax” is slightly misleading, suggesting Elvis Presley decided to set up shop at the famed Memphis recording studio so he could use their house band, or perhaps co-opt some of the Southern soul groove. That wasn’t the case. Elvis chose the Stax studios to conduct several recording sessions in 1973 for a simple reason: it was close to his Memphis home. He rented out the studio twice, once in July and once in December, and brought in his crack backing band, recording enough material to fill out three CDs. This music was doled out over the years, accounting for five hit singles over three years (a B-side and a posthumous single also came from these sessions), along with three albums: 1973’s Raised On Rock, 1974’s Good Times, and 1975’s Promised Land. These albums were all strong, but aren’t often considered part of Presley’s core canon, possibly because this mid-’70s run of records were often packaged like product (certainly there’s not a memorable album cover among them), possibly because, apart from “Promised Land,” there were no hit singles that could be called a true smash or part of his core canon. And that’s why Elvis at Stax is so valuable: taken as a whole, these 1973 sessions are revealed as his last great blast of creativity in the recording studio. Essentially, he was working the same ground he began to plow on his 1968 comeback, but the aftershocks of Elvis Country are apparent, along with just the slightest hint of funky, organ-driven grooves. In this context, the preponderance of alternate takes are not tedious, but rather show Elvis’ good humor and creativity as he tries out slightly different approaches on each take. What impresses is Presley’s virtuosity and how he cannily constructed his performances to seem effortless: there’s sweat fueling these tight, punchy renditions, and heart behind his ballads, and you can hear him work it all out on the alternate takes, then reach full flight on the finished masters.

01 – Promised Land
02 – I’ve Got A Thing About You Baby
03 – If You Talk In Your Sleep
04 – Raised On Rock
05 – Help Me
06 – I Got A Feelin’ In My Body
07 – For Ol’ Times Sake
08 – Talk About The Good Times
09 – Good Time Charlie’s Got The Blues
10 – You Asked Me To
11 – Loving Arms
12 – Your Love’s Been A Long Time Coming
13 – Spanish Eyes
14 – It’s Midnight
15 – Find Out What’s Happening
16 – Three Corn Patches
17 – My Boy

Produced for Reissue by Rob Santos & Ernst Mikael Jorgensen.
Tracks 6-14 and 16-17 Mixed by Steve Rosenthal and Rob Santos at The Magic Shop, New York, NY.
Mastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios, New York, NY.

Latest Releases

Elvis The Music - US Discography

Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
Read more
Set of techniques which have for object the commercial strategy and in particular the market study.
DoubleClick/Google Marketing
Gantry 5 Template
For website presentation and performance
Gantry 5 Template
For website presentation and performance